The recent Signature of the Soul

It is about Suryanamaskar (Sun Salutation) and its daily-experience meaning as described by Swami Lalitananda in her book The Inner Life of Asanas. 

 

It is about its significance to me that everytime I begin my practice, Suryanamaskar is the first asana I have to face, I have to do, I have to experience.. And everytime, it is always different, depending on my emotional being.  But one thing for sure, after doing a series of Suryanamaskar A and B, it invigorates, it energizes, it helps me to transition to move on to the various poses. 

 

It helps to prepare my whole being, body, mind and soul, to begin the challenge of the practice, the challenge of the day.  From my drishti, my neck, my shoulder, my spine, my stomach, my buttock, my limbs, hands and feet start to tingle and feel the prana, the chakra warm up and moving up and down my body.

 

It is the first thing to do in the morning to salute the sun, but it also the first thing we have to do daily, which is to salute the day ahead, the gratitude to experience another journey.

 

It was designed using Vivaldi font, which I view as classic, yet quite ornamental in character.  The format is a continuous swirl at the beginning and at the end of the saying.  It’s a collaborative work done by Ajeng (Munir’s wife) and my partner to put the whole design together.

 

It was inked by Mas Munir, one of Indonesia’s best tattoo artist, resides in Yogyakarta. [See more about his studio, ToxicTattoo, in Sana Sini di Yogyakarta]  His work is wonderful, he is just Excellent!

 

It’s the most lovely holiday gift from my partner.

 

I end where I started, but something has changed.  Being willing to open, to release, to let the brightness of clarity to enter, I continue the journey to self understanding.  Bowing to the Light, I find freedom in recognizing that down is only part of the same cycle that can spiral me back up.  Let this new day begin.

suryanamaskar3suryanamaskardevil-is-in-the-detail

3 Comments

  1. yoso said,

    27 December 2008 at 1:17 pm

    this sounds like a great tattoo, and a great symbol/story. Can we see a picture of the tattoo?

    Please🙂

    • Shankara said,

      27 December 2008 at 3:04 pm

      You can and you will.. we are still on the road and once back, will post it on this blog.

    • Shankara said,

      9 February 2009 at 10:07 am

      did you see the pics?


Leave a Reply

