The next Signature of the Soul

There has been a lot of search, discussion and samples for my next tattoo design, which would either be a sun/mandala or Tibetan scripture to describe my tribal lotus, as posted before.  None of these actually meet my expectations.  At the end, I came across Ink Essential.  Tashi, a formal artist by training, is based out of UK. He then became a Buddhist monk in the Tibetan Karma Kagyu order.  He studied for the next 17 years under a Tibetan master of art, apprenticing in the elaborate art of temple decoration and Tibetan calligraphy. His knowledge and various sample of designs and calligraphy in Tibetan and Sanskrit , in the form of scriptures, mantra, ornaments are really appealing to me. He is not a tattooist, but a designer of tattoos, with a sacred knowledge, respect and concern for handsome but correctly formed tattoo design in this field.  

 

I have two designs drawn by Tashi.  The first one is Om Mani Padme Hum, which in free translation would mean ‘Hail to the jewel in the Lotus’. It denotes loving kindness, purification and protection. It should be placed high on the body and never below the waist, never backwards or upside-down.  It is written in Druscha style, it is considered as ornamental style in Tibetan.  It has long graceful lines and flamboyant gestures, typically used for artistic free style calligraphy, and traditionally for non-spiritual book titles and important documents.  It will be placed horizontally under the tribal lotus.  As reflected in the writing, the mantra has a lively spirit and positive flow to it.

 

The second one is Become Together Peaceful.  This round design again is written in Druscha style and to be put under the Mani mantra.  I chose this one not only because it resembles a sun or mandala format, but because of its deep meaning and the message I want to carry in this very screwed-up world. 

 

 

 

Bottomline, I am very happy with these findings and how the designs turn out to be.  Tashi is not only a very talented artist, he is consultative and communicative, too.  The fact that we are separated by multi time-zones and we never meet face-to-face, did not make this whole process difficult. 

 

Now, I cannot wait until I have the opportunity to get them made into realization.  They will certainly take on a life of their own.

4 Comments

  1. pboga said,

    3 July 2009 at 1:43 am

    Hello!
    I’m sure to put this question here, but i couldn’t find any form of contact.
    Anyway, i saw this piece of art you got from Tashi, and probably got it tattooed, and i think it is really amazing. It’s really beautiful.

    But i was wondering if you could explain a little more what the message and meaning of it. What does “Become Together Peaceful” really mean?

    If you could contact me, please send me an e-mail to pedroboga@gmail.com

    Thank you so much!

  2. brenleal said,

    21 May 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Hi!

    As Pedro I have the same question.

    Can you please conctact me at my email noporeso@gmail.com

    Thanks!🙂

  3. Marie Anceau said,

    20 April 2012 at 10:10 am

    Hi
    I’ve got the same question…where can i find Tashi?
    could you send me a mail on : marieanceau@yahoo.fr
    Thanks a lot
    Marie (from france)


Leave a Reply

